I have been diagnosed with glomerulonephritis disease since I was in my 20’s due to an untreated illness as a child. I was on various meds throughout my adult life until I reached 64. At that time my GFR indicated the need for dialysis. I have been on hemodialysis for 2-1/2 years and I am on the transplant list with a wait time in NY state of about 5 years. My question is regarding live vaccines. My wife and I watch our infant grandson during the work week. He has just received the rotavirus vaccine and within 24 hours of that, I have been experiencing symptoms of severe diarrhea and low appetite. As a hemodialysis patient, am I in any danger of responding badly to a live virus vaccine? My doctor is off for the next few days and I thought I would try and see if I could get an answer from you.

Live virus vaccines such as the Shingles vaccine, Mumps, Measles and Rubella vaccine, Rotavirus vaccine and others can be given to dialysis patients, but generally are less effective at inducing immunity that in the non-dialysis population.  After you are transplanted, you may no longer receive live virus vaccines.  Hence, it is common to recommend that dialysis patients get recommended live virus vaccinations prior to transplantation.  You should discuss this with your primary care physician to get the recommended vaccinations prior to transplantation.

 

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Dialysis, Glomerulonephritis, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Symptoms and Side Effects, Treatments. Bookmark the permalink.