My BUN is 32 and my creatinine is 1.66. I’m a 69 y/o male. I am drinking lots of water, weigh 187, been quite active but I am worried sick.

The information that you provide suggests that you have kidney disease, but I cannot tell you what caused the kidney disease or recommend treatment without performing a complete history and physical examination.  I suggest that you consult with your physician and determine if this is acute or chronic kidney disease (CKD).  Further testing is needed including a urine test for blood, protein and infection.

For tests to measure kidney function please click here:

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Blood/Urine Testing For Kidney Disease, Chronic Kidney Disease, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing. Bookmark the permalink.