I am 30 years old and have had high blood pressure for a few years now, but it always becomes higher after dialysis treatments. I keep asking the doctors and they are unsure of the cause -I am on 4 different blood pressure medications. After every dialysis treatment the numbers are very elevated -a few times over 200. I’m sure its caused from dialysis because before treatment blood pressure is not usually high. It has been causing headaches that last hours and do not go away with the use of regular painkillers. Do you know what the cause of high blood pressure could be relating to dialysis?

Blood pressure changes immediately after dialysis can be very difficult to deal with.  I am unable to make a specific diagnosis in your situation without performing a complete history and physical examination.  In some cases, I have found that more frequent dialysis, such as home hemodialysis or peritoneal dialysis can improve blood pressure control compared to performing dialysis just three times weekly.  I suggest that you discuss with your nephrologist.

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Dialysis, Hypertension/High Blood Pressure, Kidney Failure, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Nephrologist, Symptoms and Side Effects, Treatments. Bookmark the permalink.