I am from Srilanka. I live in the city Colombo where the water I drink is chlorinated and purified. I have no habits of drinking or smoking. I have been diagnosed for early stage of kidney disease by the doctors in our area. There are no medications to cure this disease but only you can prevent it. Doctor, I want to know whether there are any medicines available to cure or to prevent this. And please give some advice on diet. Thank You.

There is no cure for chronic kidney disease (CKD).  It is important that you have regular follow up with your physician and make sure your blood pressure and treatment is appropriate for slowing the progression of your CKD.  As far as diet is concerned, I am a strong advocate for the DASH diet.  You can review the DASH diet at:  https://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health/health-topics/topics/dash

You should follow a low salt DASH diet and maintain a healthy body weight and exercise on a regular schedule.

 

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Chronic Kidney Disease, Diet/Nutrition, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Treatments. Bookmark the permalink.