My GFR was 37 due to due to steroid use for arthritis. I am drinking 3 liters of water. Now my GFR is 55. My A1c is 6.1. My weight is WNL. I walk 2-3 miles daily. Need to improve diet. Can I further improve my GFR? Also I have tinnitus from steroid use.

I am unable to make a specific diagnosis based on the information that you present.  I am not sure of your underlying kidney disease.  I cannot provide a prognosis without performing a complete history and physical examination.  I suggest that you discuss with your physician and try to determine a specific diagnosis as to the cause of your kidney disease and then determine prognosis.

 

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Chronic Kidney Disease, Diet/Nutrition, GFR, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Treatments. Bookmark the permalink.