Dr. Spry: I have stage 3 kidney disease (Creatinine=1.6, GFR=42). The only medications I currently take are 25 mg of Losartan and 5 mg of Crestor with no diet restrictions. My blood pressure and lipids are under control. I use this formula to compute daily protein consumption, 0.75 grams of protein per kilogram of body weight. My weight is 77 kilograms x 0.75 grams of protein = 57 Total grams of protein daily. Do you approve the use of this formula based on my weight?

I typically recommend protein intake between 0.8 and 1.2 grams per kilogram per day.  I believe this is a safe range for someone with chronic kidney disease (CKD).  If you are obese, I recommend that you use your lean body mass to calculate protein intake.

 

 

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Chronic Kidney Disease, Diet/Nutrition, Medication and Kidney Disease, Medication and Kidney Function, Treatments. Bookmark the permalink.