I am an 83 year old man. I have dropped to late stage 3 ckd over the past 20 years. I do not have heart disease or diabetes. My creatinine is 1.73 and gfr 38. Recently I have been diagnosed with anemia due to a decrease in hemoglobin red cells level to 11.1 because my bone marrow is not producing enough erythropioetin hormone and when it drops to 9.5, I will have to get injections of synthetic epo. My question is do you think my good creatinine and gfr levels will also drop sharply. I am hoping that the injections will keep my hemoglobin levels around 11.1 and my good creatinine and gfr levels will not drop drastically because of this hemoglobin problem and that I will be able to avoid dialysis for a couple of years more.

I am not able to provide a prognosis without performing a complete history and physical examination.  Each person progresses with chronic kidney disease (CKD) at a unique pace.  The pace of deterioration of your kidney function is best judged by following your clinical course over time and cannot be judged at any specific point in time.  I suggest that you consult with your current nephrologist about your prognosis and status.  Someone who knows your current health and medical status can best judge your prognosis.

 

 

This entry was posted in Anemia, Ask the Doctor, Chronic Kidney Disease, GFR, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Nephrologist. Bookmark the permalink.