I had to get my fistula on the side of my temporary catheter because when they did my fistula the first time on the other side, it stopped working after a week. Should I tell my doctor to place my temporary catheter on the other side now because I’m worried that it might cause problems for me since they are on the same side?

Having a fistula on the same side as your central venous catheter (hemodialysis catheter or CVC) should not pose a problem for your fistula.  I would not recommend changing the CVC unless there are problems of swelling in the arm related to the fistula that was placed.

For more information on dialysis click here:

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, AV Fistula, Blood/Urine Testing For Kidney Disease, Dialysis, Kidney Failure, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing. Bookmark the permalink.