I was diagnosed today with CKD. My GFR is 44, Creatine is 1.3 and Bun is 35, and no albumin in my urine (urine was fine). My doctor put down Stage 1 as my diagnosis. I understand from other resources that GFR of 44 is Stage 3. Could my doctor have diagnosed Stage 1 because the other markers of Stage 3 (problems with urine, and Bun and creatine levels) were lower? Should I follow guidelines for Stage 3 diet anyway?

I agree with you that this should be Stage 3 chronic kidney disease (CKD), if this has been present for at least three months.  I suggest that you discuss this with your physician for clarification.

For more information on GFR click here:

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Blood/Urine Testing For Kidney Disease, Chronic Kidney Disease, GFR. Bookmark the permalink.