My baby was born two months early. Something happened in the NICU and she has lost her right kidney. She only has one now. She is now 10 months old. I am looking for any resources on how to keep her one kidney healthy. I am wanting to start her on good eating and drinking habits now. Do you recommend any books or people to talk to to keep her on a healthy track?

Many people live normal lives with a single kidney.  I do not recommend any special diet.  I recommend regular follow up with your pediatrician and regular testing of her kidney function with both blood and urine testing.  No other special treatment is required.

For more information on living with one kidney click here:

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Birth Defects/Urinary Tract Abnormalities, Blood/Urine Testing For Kidney Disease, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Nephrectomy / One kidney, Pediatric Issues, Pregnancy / Kids, Treatments. Bookmark the permalink.