Since recurring sepsis in 2007 and being diabetic, my kidneys are not functioning well as a result. My creatinine was 2.5 and after a restricted protein diet and attention to hydration my recent blood work saw a reduction to 1.7. My question is how does this relate to the efficiency and ability of my kidneys to filter. My doctor said and I believe I am saying it correctly: at 2.5 filtration was @25% and with the reduction to creatinine related to an improvement to 35%. I assume this is stage 2. My question is in grams, what should me daily limits of protein be to lessen the load on my kidneys, as well as potassium and sodium. I once was consuming 80 – 120 g of protein but have reduced it to >50 g.

I do not advocate for reducing protein intake for patients with chronic kidney disease (CKD).  I suggest that your protein intake be between 0.8 and 1.2 grams per kilogram of body weight per day.  This is a safe level.  You can use the equation on our web site to calculate your estimated glomerular filtration rate (eGFR).  You can find this equation at:  https://www.kidney.org/professionals/KDOQI/gfr_calculator

I also recommend a DASH diet.  You can review the DASH diet at:  https://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health/health-topics/topics/dash

 

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Chronic Kidney Disease, Diet/Nutrition, GFR, Kidney-Related Health Questions. Bookmark the permalink.