I am a 55 year old female. I have been lifting weights for 35 years. I am near normal weight, am not diabetic, have always had low blood pressure, and I don’t smoke. Up until three months ago I was working out three or four times a week. I went to the doctor because I felt awful. My gfr was 56 in October, 49 in November, and now it is 46. My creatinine was 1·08, 1.22, and 1.27, respectively. My urine creatinine was 76.3 mg/dl and total 1583 mg in 24 hours. I have not been lifting weights, taking in extra protein, or using NSAIDS. I have never had elevated creatinine or low gfr in the past. Everyone, including my doctor, keep telling me that I don’t have CKD and that it’s just because I’m muscular. In the past three months my body composition has gone from less muscle to more fat but my numbers are getting worse. How can I determine definitively whether I have CKD or not? Thank you.

It is commonly very difficult to diagnose early Stage 3 chronic kidney disease (CKD), especially when the estimated glomerular filtration rate (eGFR) is between 45 and 60 milliliters per minute per 1.73 meters squared.  I recommend that you also have urine testing for blood, protein and infection.  This would be helpful in the diagnosis of CKD.  If you are still concerned, you may need to consult with a nephrologist.

 

 

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Chronic Kidney Disease, GFR, Symptoms and Side Effects. Bookmark the permalink.