My mother is 85 years old with many health issues (kidney disease, atrial fribillation, peripheral vascular disease, COPD, and Lung Cancer in remission). Her last BUN result was 170 and her Creatinine was 4.3. The nephrologist feels that she is not an appropriate candidate for dialysis. I know that this is limited information but can you please give me your opinion?

The nephrologist who knows your mother and can examine her can provide the best prognosis and treatment recommendations.  I am unable to provide prognosis or treatment advice without performing a complete history and physical examination.  I suggest that you continue to consult with the nephrologist who knows your mother best.

 

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Dialysis, Kidney Failure, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Nephrologist, Treatments. Bookmark the permalink.