I have been diagnosed with chronic kidney disease, stage 3, with a GFR of 58. I am a 72 y/o female. I had a kidney ultrasound which showed all was normal. My Doctor seems unconcerned. Should they be exploring further into the cause or is this just normal for my age? I really need expert advice on where to go from here.

I suggest that you also have urine testing for blood, protein and infection in the urine.  In some cases, if we are unable to make a specific diagnosis, a kidney biopsy may be necessary.  A kidney biopsy is only done if some form of glomerulonephritis is suspected.  If the urine testing is normal, then perhaps only follow up testing may be necessary.  The estimated glomerular filtration rate (eGFR) that you mention is 58 which is just below the normal at 60 milliliters per minute per 1.73 meters squared.

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Chronic Kidney Disease, GFR, Kidney-Related Health Questions. Bookmark the permalink.