I have CKD. Every night my leg jumps vigorously and it is restless to a point I can’t sleep. Could you give me some advice? I take a low dose of Requip but to no avail. Is this jumping leg common to CKD patients. It is surreal how it moves constantly at night. I take Trazadone for depression. I need some advice asap. Could you link me to someone who has similar condition for support.

This is known as restless leg syndrome and is very common in men and is common in patients with chronic kidney disease (CKD).  In some cases, it is related to sleep apnea syndrome.  I suggest that you be tested for sleep apnea syndrome by your physician. Other treatments can be used, but may not be any more effective than the Requip that you are taking.  I am unable to recommend any treatment without performing a complete history and physical examination.  I suggest you discuss this with your primary care physician.

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Chronic Kidney Disease, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Symptoms and Side Effects. Bookmark the permalink.