I have severe sleep apnea, along with high blood pressure and mental illness. Over the years I have done illegal drugs and prescription drugs like Abilify, Seroquel, Lisinopril, and the list goes on. I find myself in a bad position. My doctor did blood work and said my kidneys are at 75%. I have renal insufficiency and ordered a ultrasound. My question is, what should I stop doing? If I stop Lisinopril, my high blood pressure, if I stop my Abilify, the nightmare begins, and I’m an addict of amphetamines which keeps me sane my belief. So what do I stop taking or what should I start doing?

The best advice is to continue to consult with your physician about the medications that you are taking and monitor your kidney function.  Medications can be safely used in patients with chronic kidney disease (CKD), but require constant monitoring by your physician.  I would suggest that you stop using illegal drugs, as they are not healthy for you or your kidneys.

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Chronic Kidney Disease, Kidney-Related Health Questions. Bookmark the permalink.