I was diagnosed with 3rd stage CKD with eGFR of 44.48.49,49. My doctor thinks that my blood pressure medication of Ramipril (10 mg) may have contributed to kidney disease. He has reduced Ramipril to 5 mg and replaced it with 5 mg Amlodipine. As Ramipril is also used in the treatment of kidney disease, should my dosage have been reduced? I have been on Ramipril for more than 10 years.

I cannot offer treatment advice without performing a complete history and physical examination.  You are correct that Ramipril (Altace) is used to treat kidney disease, especially in patients who have protein in the urine.  I suggest that you discuss your concerns with your physician.

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Chronic Kidney Disease, Hypertension/High Blood Pressure, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Medication and Kidney Disease. Bookmark the permalink.