My Dad has been on dialysis since April 2015. He feels worse lately. Fatigue, loss of appetite, sleeplessness, irritable. How do I know if it’s a matter of revisiting treatment or meds or his nutrition? I know he doesn’t eat enough. I know he doesn’t take thyroid meds as prescribed (hypo). Then I also feel that his doctors don’t provide sufficient care or direction.

I would suggest that you arrange to visit with the nephrologist who is caring for your father.  Each month, a team of caregivers get together to discuss your father.  This called a multidisciplinary conference.  You can either arrange to visit with this group monthly or you can make an appointment to visit with the nephrologist who is caring for your father in his or her office.  This is the best thing to do in order to determine what care your father is getting and how to help him get better.

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Dialysis, Kidney-Related Health Questions. Bookmark the permalink.