My mother has severe pain in right kidney. She went to the doctor for checkup. He asked to have an abdominal ultrasound so after ultrasound, the doctor said that there is 5mm area visualized at middle calyx of right kidney. Please tell me what does this mean and what we can do for it also? My mother is also suffering from hepatitis C, so please tell me.

I cannot interpret the ultrasound examination without examining your mother and seeing the images from the ultrasound.  The ultrasound should be interpreted by the physician who requested the test.  I suggest that you discuss this with the physician who is caring for your mother.  I am not sure what the area in the right kidney may be referring to.

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Kidney Stones, Kidney-Related Health Questions. Bookmark the permalink.