Hi doctor, My husband is suffering from 3rd stage of kidney disease and his creatinine is 1.8 and protein in urine is 2+. We see kidney doctor every 3 moths but they put him on prednisone for one year and now he is taking high cholesterol and high blood pressure medicine. I am so worried for him. I need your suggestions please.

I am unable to make a specific diagnosis based on the information that you present.  It might be necessary for your husband to have a kidney biopsy in order to have a specific diagnosis and specific treatment for his chronic kidney disease (CKD).    I suggest that you ask the nephrologist (kidney doctor) for a specific diagnosis as to what kidney disease is being treated.

 

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Chronic Kidney Disease, Hypertension/High Blood Pressure, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Medication and Kidney Disease, Medication and Kidney Function, Nephrologist. Bookmark the permalink.