I am a 39 yr old African American with stage 4 chronic kidney disease, fsgs, currently no swelling but bad appetite, difficult concentrating, GFR 35, creatinine serum 1.78, creatinine ratio 91.9 and vitamin D 14. My question is should I be on dialysis and is 1200 mg of sodium bicarbonate the only medicine I should be taking?

Dialysis is not indicated for someone with an estimated glomerular filtration rate (eGFR) of 35 milliliters per minute per 1.73 meters squared.  Dialysis is often considered when the eGFR is less than 15.  Sodium bicarbonate is used to correct acid build up in the blood for patients with chronic kidney disease (CKD) and is an appropriate medication to use.  I suggest that you continue to consult with your nephrologist.

 

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Dialysis, GFR, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Nephrologist. Bookmark the permalink.