I have Stage 3 CKD. I also have chronic overall pain due to arthritis and fibromyalgia. I take no OTC meds, but my doctor wants me to take Tramadol. I am concerned about what it will do to my CKD. Also, what about low dosage of Norco? I would only take if I have screaming pain. What is your opinion on these two drugs? My doctor is a family practitioner. Thank you.

Tramadol is a safe drug in appropriate doses for patients with chronic kidney disease (CKD).  Norco is a combination of hydrocodone and acetaminophen.  It can also be used in appropriate doses in patients with CKD.  I suggest that you follow your physicians advice but discuss your concerns with your physician.

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Chronic Kidney Disease, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Symptoms and Side Effects, Treatments. Bookmark the permalink.