I am 78, and am in stage 4 CKD, with a GFR of 28. Which has been fairly stable but in gradual decline. My kidney problem stems from an incident of acute kidney failure associated with an operation for aneurysm of the abdominal aorta. I have had recent tests recommended for a colonoscopy and a nuclear stress test. Both involve prep or injections that seem like they could be dangerous to my kidneys. Prep for the colonoscopy is a prep kit of sodium sulfate, potassium sulfate and magnesium sulfate, with anesthetic of propofol. The stress test involves injections of thallium and cardiolite, both radioactive isotopes. Are these tests likely to put my kidneys under serious stress, and perhaps result in a decline of my GFR?

I suggest that you use a colonoscopy prep that uses polyethylene glycol (PEG) with electrolytes rather than sodium, magnesium and potassium sulfate.  PEG with electrolytes is much safer than the sulfate.  The thallium and the Cardiolite will not result in any kidney damage.  Propofol does not cause any concerns for kidney disease.  I suggest that you discuss your concerns with the physician who ordered these tests.

For more information on Colonoscopy prep click here:

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Treatments. Bookmark the permalink.