Back in 2003, I had a CAT scan at Vanderbilt. I was told I had a complex cyst on my right kidney. Since then I never thought about it. I now live in northernmost California. I was looking at my medical records and discovered that since about a year ago my GFR has been 54 and creatinine over 109. The reports said my kidney should last about 2 years. I don’t know what to do. Maybe I need to see a Nephrologist? Can you enlighten me?

I would suggest that you first consult with your primary care physician (PCP) and have a repeat scan to follow up the previous complex cyst.  If the scan can be compared with your previous scan, this may be re-assuring that the cyst has not changed and is a benign cyst.  If there has been a change, then further testing and evaluation by a urologist may be necessary.  I would also suggest that you have urine testing for blood, protein and infection, in addition to your blood testing for creatinine and estimated glomerular filtration rate (eGFR).  I would suggest that you evaluate the cyst first and then see whether consultation with a nephrologist is necessary.

For more information on kidney cyst click here:

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Chronic Kidney Disease, GFR, Kidney Cysts, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Treatments. Bookmark the permalink.