I am a 40 year old woman. I donated my left kidney to my mom in 2001. My labs for the last few years have shown creatinine of 1.02-1.04 and a GFR of 58-60. Should I be concerned? I’m not sure if I should make an appointment with a nephrologist to discuss kidney care after donation.

A serum creatinine of 1.02 – 1.04 milligrams per deciliter (mg/dl) and an estimated glomerular filtration rate (eGFR) between 58 and 60 milliliters per minute per 1.73 meters squared is normal for a single functioning kidney.  I suggest that you also have urine testing for blood, protein and infection in the urine and this test should be done annually along with a blood pressure check.

For information on tests to measure kidney function click here:

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Blood/Urine Testing For Kidney Disease, Donation, GFR, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Living Donation, Nephrectomy / One kidney, organ donation, Symptoms and Side Effects, Urinary Tract Infection/Pyelonephritis, Urological Issues. Bookmark the permalink.