I am a 74 year old female and have hypertension and borderline diabetes. My A1C was 6.0 in Nov. 2016. I had a kidney stone and treated with Lithotripsy in May 2016. I made a return visit to my urologist last week with L. flank pain and had a CT Scan done. While the scan did not show a stone on the left side, it did reveal swelling in the tube below my right kidney. My urologist said I should have a procedure done with contrast so he can determine the cause of the swelling. My concern are the risks involved and if its a necessity to have this procedure done? Any idea as to what causes swelling in the tubes? Thank you in advance for your input.

I am unable to make a specific diagnosis based on the information that you present.  If your kidney function is otherwise normal, the risk of contrast is very low.  I suggest that you follow the advice of your urologist.

For more information on Contrast dye click here:

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Diabetes, Hypertension/High Blood Pressure, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Medication and Kidney Disease. Bookmark the permalink.