I am in Kidney Stone prevention mode. My doctor gave me a short list of low, medium and high oxalate foods. However, while trying to research the oxalate content of foods not on the list, I find much conflicting info. My cholesterol is high as well. Some resources say to combine higher oxalate foods with calcium foods. ie cheese and milk which can be high in cholesterol. Can you recommend any books or websites for a patient? I have no medical training and many websites simply confuse me more.

I have not been a fan of low oxalate diets.  They are very difficult to follow and are not very effective.  I suggest you follow a low salt DASH diet.  You can review the DASH diet at:  https://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health/health-topics/topics/dash

You should also drink plenty of plain water to prevent kidney stones.

For more information on kidney stones click here:

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Diet/Nutrition, Kidney Stones, Kidney-Related Health Questions. Bookmark the permalink.