I have had a recurring UTI infection. They did a cat scan. I have many kidney stones, the largest being 17 mm x 32 mm. They said there was thinning of the lining of the kidney. I’m guessing from the size of this that the only option left is surgery. Will my kidney lining heal? Is this an extreme case?

The problem that you pose is a urological problem and must be dealt with by a surgeon.  I am a nephrologist and do not perform surgery.  I suggest you consult with a urologist who is a surgeon.  If you have infected kidney stones, the only way to clear the infection is to clear the kidney stones.

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Blood/Urine Testing For Kidney Disease, Chronic Kidney Disease, Kidney Stones, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Treatments, Urinary Tract Infection/Pyelonephritis. Bookmark the permalink.