My 9 year old son has had a very bright white, chalk-like residue in his underwear for several months. It is usually dried when I find it, and when I flake it off, it becomes powdery. It is definitely not a “discharge” from infection or seminal fluid. When I first saw it I thought it was paint, or white-out. When I examined it my first thought was that it looked like calcium (Tums) or some sort of mineral. He has had this once every week or so for 4-5 months, and I am now noticing that on days when he has it he often has an episode of stomach pain, which he describes as hurting fairly badly. He has never before complained of stomach pain so this made me pay attention and I noticed the correlation. It has not been accompanied by any pain or burning with urination until just the other day. That day he called me in to the bathroom to see a white, wet but powdery discharge, almost like wet chalk clumps. It was on his penis as well, and that time he said the opening in his penis hurt when he urinated. I was able to scrape a bit of the substance, which is like a hard flake, though very small. His doctor is having me take it to the lab to be tested. I’m curious if you’ve every heard of something like this, and what it might indicate? He is not dehydrated, and his urine is almost always a light straw color. Incidentally, the last week or so he has been waking with mildly to moderately puffy eyes.

I am unable to provide a specific diagnosis based on the information that you describe.  This is a finding that I have never seen before.  I suggest that you continue to work with your pediatrician and seek consultation based on the recommendation of your pediatrician.

 

 

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Birth Defects/Urinary Tract Abnormalities, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Pediatric Issues, Pregnancy / Kids, Symptoms and Side Effects. Bookmark the permalink.