I originally posted a question on 1/17/17 about my 9 year old son. I don’t see a way to respond to the reply, but have some more information that might be helpful to others looking for information on the same thing. At his doctor’s request, I was able to scrape some off to take in to the lab, and the stone analysis came back as 65% calcium oxalate dihydrate and 35% carbonate apatite. Additionally, a 24 hour urine test indicated a calcium/creatinine ratio of 245 (normal 30-20-) and an elevated creatinine level of .81 (normal 0.11-0.68). The doctor said for him to follow a low oxalate diet and follow-up with a pediatric nephrologist, which we will. Is it important to find the cause of the high creatinine and calcium rather than just treat the symptom? I remembered that my aunt (would be his great-aunt) died from nephritis at age 7, but don’t know if that would be considered a genetic risk for him that far removed.

I am unable to make any specific diagnosis based on the information that you present.  It is best if you see a pediatric nephrologist and have further testing.  It is possible that he has a genetic kidney stone disease but further testing will be needed.

 

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Kidney Stones, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Pediatric Issues, Pregnancy / Kids, Treatments. Bookmark the permalink.