Dr Spry; My new Doctor ran a complete panel of blood work and my GFR came back at 52 on 1/3/17, (after two days of symptoms of diarrhea and taking 4 tablets of Imodium to stop it.) She listed in my file stage III CKD. I was unaware I was ever even a stage II! I called her about it and reminded her I had been sick the day before the test and I was fasting. I had submitted a non-fasting blood test before our call and during the call she gave me the results of that test, but had not re-tested for the GFR. When I asked why not she said “If I can catch the blood at the lab, do you want me to run it again?” I said absolutely, I think we need to. Well now she says it came back at 61 and in her words ” I am now normal and has changed my diagnosis in my record as stage II. I don’t know what to think or what to do now. Suggestions?

Chronic kidney disease (CKD) is diagnosed when there has been an abnormal test for at least three months.  If these tests were done days apart, then CKD cannot be diagnosed.  This may have been an episode of acute kidney injury related to your diarrhea episode.  I suggest that you allow some time to pass and then see your physician for further testing to include a serum creatinine, a calculated estimated glomerular filtration rate (eGFR) and urine testing for blood, protein and infection.  If the test remains abnormal, then further testing for CKD may be in order.

 

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Blood/Urine Testing For Kidney Disease, Chronic Kidney Disease, GFR, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Symptoms and Side Effects. Bookmark the permalink.