Hello, I am 40 yrs old and have had only 1 functioning kidney since birth. Over the last 7 months, I have been experiencing pain, somewhat unbearable at times, on my left side which is the non-developed kidney. The local hospital said it was pulled muscle in my lower back. There is no other area on my back that is sore. But, the only time it is really sore is when I have to pee early in morning, or sometimes if I have to hold it a little longer, I will get sore. I have never had any other issues with my kidney. Can you help or point me in the right direction. My family doctor has just recently taken blood work also. I know my body and I know that something doesn’t feel right.

I am unable to provide a specific diagnosis based on the symptoms that you describe.  Pain is a very unusual symptom of chronic kidney disease and should not cause pain on the side of a missing kidney.  I suggest that you continue to consult with your physician about your symptoms.  I would also suggest that you have urine testing for blood, protein and infection as a cause of the symptoms.

For more information on living with one kidney click here:

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Blood/Urine Testing For Kidney Disease, Chronic Kidney Disease, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Nephrectomy / One kidney, Symptoms and Side Effects. Bookmark the permalink.