I was diagnosed last year with stage 3 kidney disease due to overuse of nasties. This diagnosis came after I tried for five years and four doctors to look carefully at my blood work which all but the last one said were fine even though my GFR was as low as 35 one time. I am overweight but since my diagnosis have lost 46 lbs, cut out all sodas, most cookies two a week, all chips, all salt, all cakes and most of the fatty food I ate. My GFR was 52 in April, 45 in August and last week was 42. I was hoping it would level out and my cholesterol went from 151 to 182. My doctors don’t seem concerned but I am worried because I really thought they would level out and stay even I also don’t use any nasties at all any more. Do you have any ideas?

I am unable to provide a specific diagnosis based on the information that you present.  I applaud you for your weight loss and your improved diet.  You appear to have Stage 3 chronic kidney disease (CKD) but I cannot tell you what is causing your kidney disease and cannot recommend a specific treatment.  I suggest that you continue to consult with your physicians and have follow up blood and urine testing for CKD.

 

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Blood/Urine Testing For Kidney Disease, Chronic Kidney Disease, Diet/Nutrition, GFR, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Symptoms and Side Effects. Bookmark the permalink.