Hello Dr.Spry, My question is regarding the urea taste and smell. I have been on hemodialysis three times a week since 2006. I get the taste and have the odor on my breath in between treatments. The issue had begun early 2016. My clearance level is at required numbers or above and they put me on a 250 dialysis filter but still no relief. Do you have any advice or suggestions.

These are common complaints for long term hemodialysis patients.  This commonly means that toxic products are building up in your blood between dialysis sessions.  I suggest that you discuss this with your nephrologist.  More frequent dialysis or home dialysis treatments can sometime improve these symptoms. You should discuss this with your nephrologist.

For more information on hemodialysis click here:

 

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Dialysis, Kidney Failure, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Nephrologist, Symptoms and Side Effects, Treatments. Bookmark the permalink.