Hello, I am a 45 year old female with ADPKD. I was in a clinical study at Mayo Clinic in Rochester for about 8 years (2006-2014). While I was in the study, I had appointments twice a year. I had heartburn/acid reflux because of cysts pushing on my inner areas. The doctors there put me on 10mg omeprazole once a day. After the study, the doctors said that I could see my regular physician for my yearly check-ups until my kidney function declined and continue on the omeprazole (I also take 10 mg lisinopril & 10mg simvastatin once a day).Since this time, I have seen articles being written that omeprazole is not a good choice with kidney disease. What are your thoughts, and should I consider switching to Zantac? I have tried to not take omeprazole- and am very uncomfortable. Thank you for your time.

Omeprazole is a proton pump inhibitor (PPI) that may cause kidney injury and result in low blood magnesium levels.  This does not occur in all patients but can occur in some individuals.  You have Autosomal Dominant Polycystic Kidney Disease (ADPCKD) and should be monitored for blood magnesium levels.  If you are benefiting from the medication and not suffering any ill effects, it should be safe for you to continue.  Ranitidine (Zantac) is a histamine blocker and may be an alternative to the PPI.  I suggest that you discuss this issue with your physician and have further monitoring both of kidney function, urine testing and blood magnesium levels.

 

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Blood/Urine Testing For Kidney Disease, Chronic Kidney Disease, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Symptoms and Side Effects, Treatments. Bookmark the permalink.