My father is 93 years old. Due to his age, his kidneys are not functioning as they use to. My question pertains to a bitter taste that my father has developed. The taste is so bad that it prevents him from eating. Is there something I can do or his physician can do to relieve this taste so that he can eat small meals?

Chronic kidney disease (CKD) frequently results in loss of appetite and abnormal tastes and smells, especially in the elderly.  I am unable to recommend treatment without performing a complete history and physical examination on your father.  I suggest consultation with his physician.

 

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Chronic Kidney Disease, Diet/Nutrition, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Symptoms and Side Effects, Treatments. Bookmark the permalink.