My son is 2.5 years old and we are in Romania. I am American and my husband is British. My son is being treated here for Nephrotic Syndrome but we would like to take him to England or America for further treatment. Do you have advice about traveling by plane. Perhaps you need to know more about his condition but if you have general advice it would still be helpful.

Traveling by airplane should not pose a risk to anyone with nephrotic syndrome.  The long travel time in an airplane with inactivity could result in blood clots in the legs.  Forming blood clots in the legs of patients with chronic leg edema and who may be older may be more of a risk. In a young child, I’m not sure there would be much risk.

For more information on Children’s health click here:

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Chronic Kidney Disease, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Nephrotic Syndrome, Pediatric Issues. Bookmark the permalink.