Hello, I have had kidney disease since I was child. I am 47 now. I have had a kidney transplant in 2004 which now has begun to decline so I am now on peritoneal dialysis. I also have a condition called HHT also known as hereditary hemorrhagic telangiectasia. I have a lot of GI bleeding and I am very anemic. My question is does having a very low kidney function cause GI bleeding and does peritoneal dialysis also cause GI bleeding from how it cleans your system? I’m just wondering how these 2 conditions contribute to my GI bleeding. I know the HHT also causes bleeding but I’m very curious about the low kidney function and PD. Thank you so much for your help

Kidney failure increases the risk of bleeding.  Kidney failure also decreases your body’s ability to make red blood cells and also results in anemia.  Peritoneal dialysis should not increase the risk of bleeding.  Your disease (HHT) is also responsible for blood loss from your gastrointestinal (GI) tract.

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Dialysis, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Symptoms and Side Effects, Treatments. Bookmark the permalink.