I have polycystic kidney disease. My current medications are 10 mg lisinopril and 120 mg Diltiazem twice daily. My creatinine is 1.4. I’ve heard that I shouldn’t be on a calcium channel blocker. Is this true? I was put on Diltiazem because the lisinopril was causing an increase in creatinine, but an ARB has never been tried.

I have used calcium channel blockers in many patients with chronic kidney disease (CKD).  I do not know any reason why you would not be able to use diltiazem with lisinopril.  The use of a calcium channel blocker by itself would not be as effective in preventing progression of CKD, however, the use of the combination would cause no problem in my view and likely would be of benefit.

 

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Chronic Kidney Disease, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Treatments. Bookmark the permalink.