My GFR went from 56-45 in less than a year and blood level from 1.23-1.49. I had a knee surgery and a laparoscopy of my uterus in that time. I am wondering if that’s why the numbers got to much higher. I also got my blood checked on the 26th of this month and it was 1.43 and on the 30th checked it again cause I thought I was too dehydrated. When I took test earlier and after drinking over 2 liters of water it went up to 1.49 in four days? How? I changed my diet to eat less protein, sodium, potassium and phosphorous foods, I recently lost about 15lbs. Is it my diet? My sodium intake under 600mg and about 45-50g of protein a day. Potassium under 1500. I’m 36 yrs old with high blood pressure (148/96 was last reading) Im 5’5 165lbs. Please let me know what types of foods are good and what else I should be doing to better my chances of not progressing.

It sounds like you are doing all of the right things.  I would recommend that you continue to consult regularly with your physician and follow his or her advice.  There is always some variability to the serum creatinine from time to time and I am not sure these numbers are actually any different from each other.  I do advocate for the DASH diet.  You can review the DASH diet at:  https://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health/health-topics/topics/dash

 

 

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Blood/Urine Testing For Kidney Disease, Chronic Kidney Disease, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing. Bookmark the permalink.