Daily Archives: February 8, 2017

I was diagnosed with an angiomyolipoma on my left kidney after it ruptured in June, 2016. It was emobilized, I still have pain in my side/abdomen/back. What questions do I need to ask? What should I be looking for? The intervention radiologist released me in October. I still had some blood in my abdominal cavity so was assumed that was causing the pain. I just had another CT with and without contrast and have appointment next week to get results. I was only told to watch for blood in urine and new pain. With constant back/side pain, I’m wondering if it’s from my kidney. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

If you had bleeding into an angiomyolipoma 8 months ago, it is unlikely that this is still causing abdominal or back pain.  I would suggest a complete history and physical examination to look for other causes of your pain and … Continue reading

Posted in Ask the Doctor, Blood/Urine Testing For Kidney Disease, Chronic Kidney Disease, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing

Dear Doctor, My father (Age 67) is losing lot of protein through urine. He was suspected for Multiple Myeloma but his PET scan and bone marrow biopsy reports were absolutely normal. But the protein loss is still going on and that is causing him lot of weakness. We did his Kidney Functioning Test but that showed nothing serious. He was admitted to ICU because of some urine infection during which lot of water was accumulated in his body. He had swelling on his whole body which now is going away through diuretic medicines prescribed by his cardiologist. Is this related to Kidney or Blood?

Protein in the urine (known as proteinuria) is a finding in kidney disease.  It is first necessary to find out exactly how much protein is spilling into the urine.  If that protein loss is more than 3 grams per day, … Continue reading

Posted in Ask the Doctor, Kidney Biopsy, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Nephrologist, Nephrotic Syndrome, Symptoms and Side Effects, Treatments

Medicine to lower the creatinine level?

There are no medications that lower the serum creatinine level.  Treatment is directed at avoiding further loss of kidney function and stabilizing the rise of the serum creatinine. For more information on kidney disease click here:

Posted in Ask the Doctor, Chronic Kidney Disease, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Medication and Kidney Disease, Medication and Kidney Function, Treatments

My Father is suffering kidney disease from last 5 years, his current creatinine is 4.52 (tested on Jan 31 2017) and was 4.25 (on Jan 14 2017). In this moment his local doctor gave him some medicine (Amlocal, prajopies, renvela, Dicaltol, Tigiror, Fusict,Feyofax,viscotin etc). Among those Renvela & Viscotin is newly suggested. Doctor suggest us to observe him for 7 days with those medicines, then Hospitalize our patient. After hospitalization, they will give him antibiotic. I have calculated GFR in online and found its already 13mL/min/1.73 m2. By judging the above information, can you suggest me about my father’s treatment?

I am not able to recommend medical treatment without performing a complete history and physical examination. Your father appears to have advanced chronic kidney disease (CKD). I suggest that you continue to consult with your father’s physician as to appropriate … Continue reading

Posted in Ask the Doctor, Blood/Urine Testing For Kidney Disease, Chronic Kidney Disease, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Medication and Kidney Disease, Medication and Kidney Function, Treatments