I was diagnosed with an angiomyolipoma on my left kidney after it ruptured in June, 2016. It was emobilized, I still have pain in my side/abdomen/back. What questions do I need to ask? What should I be looking for? The intervention radiologist released me in October. I still had some blood in my abdominal cavity so was assumed that was causing the pain. I just had another CT with and without contrast and have appointment next week to get results. I was only told to watch for blood in urine and new pain. With constant back/side pain, I’m wondering if it’s from my kidney. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

If you had bleeding into an angiomyolipoma 8 months ago, it is unlikely that this is still causing abdominal or back pain.  I would suggest a complete history and physical examination to look for other causes of your pain and discomfort.

 

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Blood/Urine Testing For Kidney Disease, Chronic Kidney Disease, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing. Bookmark the permalink.