Daily Archives: February 10, 2017

I’m a PD patient and my question is that every time I have a drain, I’m in severe pain my lower stomach. Is there something wrong?

In many cases, the pain is related to the catheter being sucked into the peritoneal lining of your abdomen.  In this case, I would slow the flow out of your abdomen until the pain clears.  If the pain persists, then … Continue reading

Posted in Ask the Doctor, Dialysis, Kidney Failure, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Nephrologist, Symptoms and Side Effects, Treatments

I am age 75, stage 4 ckd, on dialysis. I have lost my sense of taste for a 4 month duration. I have been unsuccessful in finding an answer for this. I am taking metoprolol, simvastatin, 81 mg aspirin, allopurinol, breo & ventolin. I am getting desperate with this taste issue. Thank you.

Taste alterations in dialysis patients are common, but very difficult to treat.  I can only suggest that you review your concerns with your nephrologist and determine if there is a problem with your dialysis treatments that could relieve the problem. … Continue reading

Posted in Ask the Doctor, Dialysis, Nephrologist, Symptoms and Side Effects, Treatments

I have stage 4 CKD and I now need a drug that’s safe to take for controlling my heart beat. The Duke hospital put me on Amiodarone HEL, 200 mg. Just a week I started a red rash on my body and legs so I will have to stop the drug. What other drug is safe to use? Thank you for you time and attendance to this request.

I am not a cardiologist and cannot recommend drug treatment without performing a complete history and physical examination.  There are other drugs that can be used, but this would depend on why Amiodarone was used and the heart disease they … Continue reading

Posted in Ask the Doctor, Blood/Urine Testing For Kidney Disease, Chronic Kidney Disease, GFR, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Nephrologist, Treatments

Hello, Dr. Spry, I donated my left kidney in 2014. Since then, I’ve been told I have osteoporosis and should take Fosamax and calcium. Does this regimen have any effect on my kidney?

As long as your remaining kidney has normal function and the estimated glomerular filtration rate is greater than 30 milliliter per minute per 1.73 meters squared, then Fosamax (alendronate) can be used safely to treat osteoporosis.  This should not have … Continue reading

Posted in Ask the Doctor, Chronic Kidney Disease, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Medication and Kidney Function, Nephrectomy / One kidney, Treatments

Hello, I recently had an Renal ultrasound scan and I see from a copy of the report I received that I have a thin walled simple cyst on my left kidney arising from the upper pole. What is alarming me is the size of it, it is shown as 80mm x 74.6mm x 84.7mm, this seems very big, unless they have typed it wrong. Your opinion would be appreciated.

If the report calls this a simple cyst, then this is a benign cysts.  About 40% of people develop a simple cyst in their kidney as they age.  The size is not particularly unusual.  If you confirm that this is … Continue reading

Posted in Ask the Doctor, Blood/Urine Testing For Kidney Disease, Kidney Cysts, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Treatments

I have a single right kidney with congenital ureter deformations. I have had an infection off and on for over 20 years, averaging to one every 3 to 4 months. I have also developed kidney stones having two lithotripsy surgeries within 3 years, and looking at another within the next month. I was put on a potassium/calcium treatment that I developed a skin rash from something pertaining to that. I am also anemic. I also religiously drink my water. My question is, what can I do diet wise besides cranberry to improve my kidney health?

I am unable to make medical treatment recommendations without performing a complete history and physical examination.  I am a strong advocate for the DASH diet.  The DASH diet can decrease the tendency for stone formation when coupled with a low … Continue reading

Posted in Ask the Doctor, Chronic Kidney Disease, Kidney Stones, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Treatments

Is it possible for me, a type O, to donate to my aunt which is a type B +? If it is possible, even the slightest plausibility it could work, how can I donate and how much would the surgery cost? I’m from the Philippines in western Visayas.

A person with Type O blood might be able to donate a kidney to a person with Type B blood, as long as the rest of the matching is acceptable.  Your aunt would have to go to a transplant unit … Continue reading

Posted in Ask the Doctor, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Living Donation, organ donation, Transplantation

Please help me I have medullary sponge kidney. I am in pain everyday. I have kidney stones in both kidneys small ones and big ones 7, 8, 9 mm big. I have a urologist, but he won’t give me nothing for pain. What can I do? Please help. I can’t take this pain anymore.

Medullary Sponge Kidney (MSK) is a rare kidney disease that causes damage to the collecting tubules of the kidney and calcium is known to build up within these tubules.  This can result in the passage of multiple kidney stones.  Treatment … Continue reading

Posted in Ask the Doctor, Chronic Kidney Disease, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Medullary Sponge Kidney, Treatments, Urological Issues