Hello, I recently had an Renal ultrasound scan and I see from a copy of the report I received that I have a thin walled simple cyst on my left kidney arising from the upper pole. What is alarming me is the size of it, it is shown as 80mm x 74.6mm x 84.7mm, this seems very big, unless they have typed it wrong. Your opinion would be appreciated.

If the report calls this a simple cyst, then this is a benign cysts.  About 40% of people develop a simple cyst in their kidney as they age.  The size is not particularly unusual.  If you confirm that this is a simple cyst on ultrasound examination, then this is a benign finding and no treatment is necessary.

 

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Blood/Urine Testing For Kidney Disease, Kidney Cysts, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Treatments. Bookmark the permalink.