I am age 75, stage 4 ckd, on dialysis. I have lost my sense of taste for a 4 month duration. I have been unsuccessful in finding an answer for this. I am taking metoprolol, simvastatin, 81 mg aspirin, allopurinol, breo & ventolin. I am getting desperate with this taste issue. Thank you.

Taste alterations in dialysis patients are common, but very difficult to treat.  I can only suggest that you review your concerns with your nephrologist and determine if there is a problem with your dialysis treatments that could relieve the problem.  In some cases, I have sent patients to a dentist to review the dental and mouth problems that could be contributing to altered taste sensation.

 

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Dialysis, Nephrologist, Symptoms and Side Effects, Treatments. Bookmark the permalink.