I have a single right kidney with congenital ureter deformations. I have had an infection off and on for over 20 years, averaging to one every 3 to 4 months. I have also developed kidney stones having two lithotripsy surgeries within 3 years, and looking at another within the next month. I was put on a potassium/calcium treatment that I developed a skin rash from something pertaining to that. I am also anemic. I also religiously drink my water. My question is, what can I do diet wise besides cranberry to improve my kidney health?

I am unable to make medical treatment recommendations without performing a complete history and physical examination.  I am a strong advocate for the DASH diet.  The DASH diet can decrease the tendency for stone formation when coupled with a low salt diet.  I suggest that you review the DASH diet at:  https://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health/health-topics/topics/dash

 

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Chronic Kidney Disease, Kidney Stones, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Treatments. Bookmark the permalink.