Please help me I have medullary sponge kidney. I am in pain everyday. I have kidney stones in both kidneys small ones and big ones 7, 8, 9 mm big. I have a urologist, but he won’t give me nothing for pain. What can I do? Please help. I can’t take this pain anymore.

Medullary Sponge Kidney (MSK) is a rare kidney disease that causes damage to the collecting tubules of the kidney and calcium is known to build up within these tubules.  This can result in the passage of multiple kidney stones.  Treatment should be directed at correcting the urine citrate, if abnormal, and correcting the acid build up in your blood.  You should be managed by a nephrologist who knows about MSK.  I am not able to recommend treatment for pain without performing a complete history and physical examination.  I suggest you continue to work with your primary care physician (PCP) and have him or her make appropriate referrals for care.

 

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Chronic Kidney Disease, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Medullary Sponge Kidney, Treatments, Urological Issues. Bookmark the permalink.