At my most recent check up, my microalbumin levels were very elevated. My level was 33. My creatinine was normal, and my ratio was normal. However, I am concerned about the high level of albumin. I do not have diabetes or high blood pressure, but I am overweight. Do I have kidney disease?

I am unable to provide a specific diagnosis of chronic kidney disease (CKD).  If the urinary ratio of albumin to creatinine in the urine is normal, then an elevated albumin concentration in the urine is of no significance.  I suggest that you consult your primary care physician (PCP) for interpretation of the testing.

 

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Blood/Urine Testing For Kidney Disease, Chronic Kidney Disease, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing. Bookmark the permalink.