I am a 69 year old with CKD 3. Right kidney was removed due to kidney cancer. I have low testosterone and type 2 diabetes. Also I am over weight and want to start testosterone replacement therapy. I am seeking advice as to whether this is a safe therapy. I have read the studies on the morbidity rate on men with Low T and CKD and it is frightening.

Any treatment has risks and benefits.  In this situation, I suggest you discuss the risks and benefits of testosterone treatment with your physician, who knows your medical history and can discuss the risks and benefits with you.  I am unable to recommend treatment without performing a complete history and physical examination.

 

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Chronic Kidney Disease, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing. Bookmark the permalink.