Hi Doctor. I am from INDIA. My mother is age 60. She is diabetic and with hypertension. Taking JANUMET 50/500 MG OD, PINOM 20 MG OD, ATOCOR 20 MG OD. LIVOGEN Z OD. (Hb a1c 6.6, bp 120/80,serum creatinine 1.2, eGFR 50.). Recently underwent cataract with right eye. Given Drops MILFOUX DF 8,6,4,3,2,1. I FORTE capsules OD for 60 days. Is that safe to take this antioxidant for her. She doesn’t have any other problems. She is a vegetarian. Please do let me know. If any need in change of medicines or to stop any.

I am unable to give medical treatment advice without performing a complete history and physical examination.  I suggest that the eye surgeon consult with your mother’s physician about the safety of the medications that she is taking.  It is best that a physician who is familiar with all of your mother’s medical problems approve all of the medication that she is taking.

 

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, GFR, Hypertension/High Blood Pressure, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Medication and Kidney Disease. Bookmark the permalink.